Fleischmann Announces Seven East Tennessee Counties Eligibility to Receive Additional Disaster Relief Funding

September 18, 2019
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Congressman Chuck Fleischmann (TN-03) released the following statement in response to the announcement that $150 million in grants have been made available through the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Community Facilities Program to further assist areas impacted by natural disasters across our nation. Projects in East Tennessee’s Anderson, Campbell, Hamilton, Morgan, Roane, Scott, and Union Counties are eligible to receive funding.

“Earlier this year, East Tennessee was devastated by record flooding. Almost immediately, the true nature of the Volunteer spirit was shown as neighbors and local leaders united to help one another with response and recovery efforts. While time has passed, significant damage remains, and we must continue to do all we can to provide relief. I greatly appreciate USDA Rural Housing Service Administrator Bruce Lammers and the team at USDA for recognizing the need for continued aid in our communities.”

According to USDA, grant applications will be accepted at USDA state offices until all funding has been allocated. For more information on grant assistance eligibility click here.

Following the flooding, Governor Bill Lee sent a request to President Trump to ask for a Major Disaster Declaration. Shortly after, Members of the Tennessee Delegation and Governor Bill Lee sent a letter urging President Trump for quick approval of the disaster declaration request. On April 17th, President Trump approved the Major Disaster Declaration for Tennessee which allowed devastated Tennessee counties to receive relief from Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) programs.